My Weekend at Hyper Japan July 2015

Hello all you lovely blog readers I hope you are all well,

Most of you will know that I went to an event in London recently called Hyper Japan.

Website: http://hyperjapan.co.uk/

This year the event moved location due to the closure of Earls Court to the O2. Now they had so many amazing Japanese performers and guests and all sorts of things were going on that I thought it would be an amazing location and the best HJ so far. Sadly that’s not quite what happened. There were quite a few issues this year but I will address this at the bottom of the post.

I travelled down to London via Virgin East Coast 1st Class. No I’m not rich or super fancy, it was only £10 more than standard for some reason. Due to the time of the train I got to pick from the complimentary breakfast menu. I opted for a bacon roll with a glass of orange juice. I could also have had a croissant but I don’t eat too much in a morning. I also had 2 cups of tea and was given a bottle of chilled water before leaving the train. I could totally get used to that kind of service!

IMAG3366 IMAG3367 IMAG3368 IMAG3370

I forgot to take my camera with me on the Friday but I spent most of the time with my friends shopping anyway so I wouldn’t have had much to share anyway. You had to queue to swap your ticket for a wristband but I didn’t have to queue long and as I bought a 3 day wristband I only had to queue on the Friday. It was nice on Saturday when i arrived to see these queues and I could just walk straight in – bad for them though. It was a super hot day too!

DSCN4170 DSCN4173

I rushed there Saturday morning to see One Note who were on at 9:45am (too early!) but just didn’t make it in time. I arrived just as they were going off stage. So sad. I decided to hang around in building six though and enjoy the bit of air-con that there was and drink some cold water. They made people bin any food and drink they had before entering, which given how hot a day it was and that the bar isn’t cheap, I didn’t agree with it. Luckily i hadn’t been organised enough to take anything with me.

I then watched Dempagumi.inc as they were the next to perform. I didn’t know much about them other than they were a J-Pop/idol group. They were certainly a surprise. Their music was much more powerful and upbeat than I expected. It certaily wasn’t the cute soft pop I was expecting. They work so hard, I don’t know where they got all that energy from but they stayed super bouncy and happy the whole time. Made them hard to photograph! The whole thing was really catchy and I stayed to watch the whole set even though it’s not really my thing. They also had a group of fans dancing along with glow sticks too.

DSCN4177 DSCN4178 DSCN4179 DSCN4186 DSCN4192 DSCN4193 DSCN4194

Honey Spice performed next but I only saw a bit of their performance.

DSCN4204 DSCN4205 DSCN4206DSCN4207

I then caught the end of the Hello Kitty Bento box demonstration, I only really saw the three people having a go at doing one – I’m not sure what else happened.

DSCN4227 DSCN4225 DSCN4224 DSCN4221

Randomly as I was walking through the HJ area looking at stalls I was stopped by a stall holder and asked if I knew who One Note were and if I liked them. I was like yes and he was like ‘Oh good, they are having a photo shoot session now, join the queue’. So I managed to get a photo with One Note again this year but it’s not blurry this time thanks to this wonderful Cosplayer who took the photo for me.
DSCN4218 DSCN4220

On Saturday they split the session in two parts with an hours gap between 3 – 4 pm. I actually had bought tickets to attend a lolita tea party with Coco & Mocha from the Gothic Lolita band Die Milch at 4pm so I missed a bit of HJ. I didn’t take any photos at the tea party but we had a few mini cake slices, biscuits and tea and could talk to and photos with Coco & Mocha. We were also all given a raffle ticket and I won the main prize! It was a bit embarrassing as I had just been talking about how unlucky I am and I never win – oops. This is the skirt I won, it’s by The Snow Field. So pretty! This event was run by the Tea Party Club for lolitas and not by Hyper Japan itself. It also meant that I missed X-Japan sadly.

DSCN9137-copy-320x400

X-Japan‘s drum kit:

DSCN4372 DSCN4373

Here are some random Hyper Japan photos:

DSCN4201 DSCN4210 DSCN4212 DSCN4213 DSCN4216 DSCN4214 DSCN4370 DSCN4371 DSCN4375 DSCN4376

Beautiful Bonsai trees:

DSCN4386 DSCN4387 DSCN4388 DSCN4389 DSCN4390 DSCN4391 DSCN4392 DSCN4393 DSCN4394

ILU GRACE (a Japanese R&B duo) performing:

DSCN4364 DSCN4365 DSCN4366 DSCN4367 DSCN4368 DSCN4369

I also watched Tomoca (Wa-Pop artist) perform, she had an amazing voice, really beautiful. I’m glad I watched her performance:

DSCN4417 DSCN4418 DSCN4419 DSCN4423 DSCN4424 DSCN4425 DSCN4427 DSCN4431 DSCN4432

I love Visual Kei so I was very excited that LOST ASH were performing at Hyper Japan. I managed to see them on Sat and Sun and they were awesome. I hope they come to the UK again.

DSCN4434 DSCN4437 DSCN4439 DSCN4443 DSCN4444 DSCN4445 DSCN4620 DSCN4624 DSCN4622 DSCN4624 DSCN4629

The gaming/manga & anime section (I didn’t really spend much time in this bit so I’m not quite sure what they had going on)

DSCN4396 DSCN4397 DSCN4398 DSCN4399 DSCN4400 DSCN4401 DSCN4402 DSCN4404 DSCN4406 DSCN4407 DSCN4408 DSCN4409 DSCN4410

Food court area and yummy food:

DSCN4385DSCN4616DSCN4617

More general photos:

DSCN4377 DSCN4378 DSCN4379 DSCN4380 DSCN4381 DSCN4382 DSCN4383 DSCN4384

Last, but certainly not least, was the lovely One Note, who I made it in time to see on the Sunday morning.

DSCN4449 DSCN4452 DSCN4454 DSCN4456 DSCN4459 DSCN4462 DSCN4466 DSCN4468 DSCN4469

The Bad:

So, there were a few issues this year with Hyper Japan but it had a lot of positivies too. The way it was split up in parts ruined the atmosphere and due to the O2 being open to the public lots of Cosplayers and J-fashion wearers felt like they were on display. Apparently some staff were openly mocking people and being rude to Cosplayers. They usually have Cosplay competitions at HJ but they held none this year – not sure why. They also struggled to find anywhere to get changed. The signs and directions to find things were really bad, I never found the theatre part as I just couldn’t figure out where it was. It was also really hot as the air-conditioning didn’t seem to be in the main HJ area – not great when wearing wigs and things. The stage and seating area was badly located, there was not enough room, if you didn’t get there early you couldn’t see what was happening at all. There seemed to be less stalls and food options. I feel sorry for anyone with young children or health conditions as there just wasn’t enough seating. Also, you did so much walking back and forth, most of the weekend was spent walking and standing. So tiring.

The Good:

The guests at HJ were the best they have had so far and it was a really varied mix. Using building six as a live house was an excellent idea, it was really nice getting to see the performers on an actual stage. Most guests held meet and greets and these were really well planned. They had 2 members of X-Japan perform a special set – that’s pretty huge! The fashion show was much more varied this year, not to mention huge. Plus it was fun!

I’m not sure where they are holding the event next year but the Christmas one is at Tabacco Dock which actually sounds like a great venue. I think HJ struggled a bit this year due to the closure of Earls Court which is where they used to hold it. It was still good though and well worth going to.

One thought on “My Weekend at Hyper Japan July 2015

  1. Wow, Hyper Japan had so many guests this year! It’s a shame you missed some performances (I agree 9:45 is way to early!) but I’m glad you could have a nice time anyway.
    I went to the first Hyper Japan a few years ago and it seems to have grown a lot since then. I’d like to go again sometime!

Leave a Reply

