Infanta Gold Playground OP – Review

I bought this dress from Glitzy Wonderland (see previous review on them) as I’d wanted it for a while. I just really loved the colour and the print is fairly sweet but in a slightly more grown up way and the contrasting diamond print really sets it off. I went for the OP version rather than the JSK because I didn’t like the styling at the top of the JSK.

I paid $107.91 (£65.38) for this dress from Glitzy Wonderland as they had a 20% off discount at the time but it’s usually $119.90 (£73.81).

Link for the dress page:

http://www.glitzywonderland.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=456

Stock Photo:

gold playground OP blue-800x600

My Pics:

DSCN0601 DSCN0602 DSCN0603 DSCN0608 DSCN0609

The dress is the same colour in person as I expected it to be and the print is really bright and crisp. I’d say it’s a medium thickness fabric as it’s not really thin but it’s not super thick. It feels really nice and is not super stretchy so I think it’s probably cotton or a higher cotton blend. There’s a lining sewn inside too which is good, the lining doesn’t line all the top part though, just the front. There’s a hidden side zip on the right side, it stops about an inch or so under the arm which is good because if they get too near the arm the seam can start to fray due to movement. The zip is a bit stiff to get past the gathered part in the waist but this a common problem that all my lolita dresses seem to have no matter the brand. It’s just due to how thick the fabric is there. Also the zip is sewn into the lining as well as the main dress fabric, it’s all really neatly done and is almost invisible when zipped up as you can see in the last photo.

DSCN0610 DSCN0612 DSCN0615 DSCN0616

I love the detailing around the neckline and the lace trim is nice and soft. I would say it is possibly a bit bigger than the size stated on the website, it’s probably a bit big for me really but I usually have to buy a bigger size to get the extra length. Also due to the design with the way the sleeves are sewn in it’s quite difficult to get on and off so I’m grateful for the extra room. I don’t know if someone was bigger than me how easy they would find it to get on. Also, how cute is the print! Plus due to all the different things featured it really opens up accessory and overall styling options.

IMG_9821 IMG_9820 IMG_9811 IMG_9809 IMG_9807 IMG_9806 IMG_9805 IMG_9804 IMG_9802 IMG_9801 IMG_9800 IMG_9819

The dress also has a part-shirring panel in the back with lacing ribbon and waist ties so can fit a range of sizes. The ribbon goes through sewn in loops too which feel fairly sturdy and strong so you should be able to lace it quite tight if needed, I wouldn’t tie the waist ties too tight though as I don’t think the buttons are that strong. The bows are detachable so you can style the dress how you want. The larger bow has loops of cotton on the back, I’m not 100% sure why, unless it’s in case you wanted to wear it as a headbow? Also it seems to have gotten a bit squashed in the post, hopefully I can sort that out.

DSCN0618 DSCN0619 DSCN0620 DSCN0621 DSCN0623

Slight negatives:

  • Although the design is lovely the way the sleeves are sewn in and the fact that it’s not super stretchy fabric does make it a bit hard to get the dress on and off, but I guess it depends also on how flexible you are.
  • I also think it’s a shame that they have broken the print in so many places with seams, especially on the front of the bodice. It spoils the overall appearance of the dress and design.
  • The fabric is also really creased, I haven’t tried ironing it yet, hopefully it comes out easy. My concern though is that as its thicker stiffer fabric it may crease easy so if that’s the case I will need to be careful how I sit in it and for how long. No long train journeys for example.

DSCN0604 DSCN0605

Overall I’m really happy with the dress and don’t regret my purchase at all. I would score it 4/5 as there are a few issues but they are only small.

Leave a Reply

