Join the Revolution

http://lhouraiili.blogspot.co.uk/2013/12/im-changing.html

My friend shared a link to this above blog post on facebook and after reading it I thought I would share it here too as it’s exactly the reason I decided to do my blog. I think its awful that people make each other feel this way especially over something so superficial and I’m glad she has decided to continue to be who she is and wear what she wants. I’m still not brave enough to do that and I never did a month of wearing more bold fashion like I said I would (this is my New Year’s resolution though) but I am doing and wearing things now that I would never have done even just a few years ago. I think it’s important that people get to be who they are and are allowed to express themselves, after all you only live once so this is your only opportunity to do it. Therefore I would like to encourage you all to join the ‘weirdo revolution’ too though I think ‘Unique Individuals’ is maybe a nicer term as I’m all for calling myself a weirdo but when others use it as a hate word then it’s not so nice… So, if you have ever wanted to wear something bold, try a different fashion, dye your hair a bright colour then I suggest you go for it, you don’t need to answer to anyone else as it’s not for them. If you aren’t brave enough to wear it out then keep it to the comfort of your room or wear a more toned version out but please be yourself, don’t let anyone take that away from you or make you miss out just because they have narrow views. I don’t want to get old and be filled with regrets or I wish I had done this or that when I was younger and I don’t want anyone else to feel that way either. Life goes by incredibly fast so grasp it now and I will aim to do the same.

On a similar note I would also like to make you aware of the Sophie Lancaster Foundation as they do really good work trying to promote the acceptance of others. Sophie was a young girl who was attacked and died simply because she was a Goth. This is totally unacceptable behaviour within our society which is why I value their work so much plus their motto S.O.P.H.I.E – Stamp out prejudice, hatred and intolerance everywhere, can be applied to so many other factors beyond fashion and appearance.

http://www.sophielancasterfoundation.com/

https://www.facebook.com/thesophielancasterfoundation

Stay strong, keep safe, be happy and live as you are!

Leave a Reply

